Do you Compost? Reasons why you should!

Composting is a way for people everywhere to take responsibility for their yard and kitchen waste.

“Home composting is the ultimate way to claim responsibility for the many tons of compostable waste most of us generate each year without sending the waste to the landfill, plus there are plenty of benefits of adding compost to your garden and soil. This is a hot topic right now, as the world is going green and organic. Compost is a free fertilizer and soil amendment for all your gardens, whether you are into flowers or vegetables.

So why doesn’t everyone do it?

“In some places, almost everyone does. A 2006 survey by Statistics Canada showed that 98 percent of the residents of Prince Edward Island compost, followed closely by Nova Scotia with 95 percent. Compare and contrast: After 10 years of dedicated public compost education efforts in Portland, Ore. — including the sale of more than 90,000 plastic composters — just over 30 percent of households compost their kitchen waste. In compost-crazy Alameda County, Cal., about 24 percent of homeowners with yards are active composters.

These and other studies on home composting also shed light on the habits of active composters, who typically compost 70 percent of their food waste and either compost or recycle all of their yard waste. Once people start composting, they don’t stop — nine out of 10 people who start composting are still at it 10 years later. Long-time composters tend to keep more than one type of compost, too — usually a heap and an enclosed bin.” Mother Earth News

I personally have a 3-bin/stall system, which was completely homemade. We used fence and a heavy black fabric to put around the outer edge. After composting in one bin for a while, we then switch to the next. The last bin stores gathered leaves and old straw and hay to use to mix with kitchen scraps. The items to compost include browns and greens. Browns are leaves, straw, newspaper, cardboard, dryer lint, pine needles and sawdust. Greens consist of kitchen scraps, coffee grounds and filters, manure, grass clippings, hair and weeds. Most of these items are things we naturally have.

Until your compost is ready to use, which can take approximately 6 months, your local community or city will sell compost. Compost is a good move that helps my garden and my community, and it takes the pressure off of my compost to hurry up and get done.”

So, are you ready to compost now?

16 Responses

  1. Sheet composting works well, too. I have a 2-acre garden divided into beds, so every fall I clean out the chicken coop and spread that over the garden, followed by a layer of grass clippings, a layer of fresh manure from the barn, a layer of leaves from the yard. I top it off with lime and then cover the individual beds with recycled plastic sheeting. Come spring I run the tiller over that and start to plant.

  2. Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your blog and in accession capital to assert that I get actually enjoyed account your blog posts.
    Anyway I will be subscribing to your augment and even I achievement you access consistently quickly.

  3. Useful information. Lucky me I found your site by
    chance, and I’m stunned why this twist of fate did not happened earlier! I bookmarked it.

  4. Wow, incredible weblog format! How long have you
    been running a blog for? you made running a blog look easy.

    The total glance of your site is excellent, let alone the
    content!

  5. Right after a demonstrated evaluation in the anxiolytic usefulness in a very mouse button style, haloperidol, mecamylamine, as well as ketanserin are given to decide the trails aniracetam will depend on for you to
    put in the anti-anxiety side effects. Haloperidol wholly stopped the actual anxiolytic issues, along with mecamylamine and ketanserin almost utterly reversed the unsightly effects.

    That points too aniracetam’s anxiolytic mechanics is definitely caused by way of D2/D3, nACh, together with 5-HT2A receptors.[1]
    Aniracetam is which can uniquely regulate the particular AMPA receptor[2] plus was created because the parent or guardian substance that will derive a class of drugs known as ampakines that happen to be becoming explored seeing that nootropics along with neuroprotective medicine to your therapy of Alzheimer’s disease and other neurodegenerative issues.
    one
    Inspite of the extra fat solubility regarding aniracetam, it
    has the half-life is way shorter in contrast to normal racetam analogs like
    piracetam.[citation needed]
    Regularly used dosage are actually 750-3,1,000 milligrams regular in
    most cases consumed in 2-3 dosages.
    Uncomfortable Side Effects [edit]

    Normal unwanted side effects contain: unrest, anxiousness, uneasiness,
    sleep apnea. Less common negative effects comprise: headaches, somnolence, vertigo, soft epigastric agony, feeling sick, looseness of, rash.
    A lot of these results are typically short term, as well
    as in the scientific tests just where they were reported when damaging activities, wouldn’t will need firing regarding solution.

  6. I know this website offers quality depending articles
    and other material, is there any other web page which offers these
    kinds of stuff in quality?

  7. Nice respond in return of this issue with genuine arguments and explaining everything regarding that.

  8. I love it when people get together and share opinions. Great site, continue the good work!

  9. Howdy are using WordPress for your site platform? I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and create my own. Do you need any html coding expertise to make your own blog? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  10. Right here is the perfect webpage for everyone who hopes to find out about this topic. You understand so much its almost tough to argue with you (not that I personally would want to…HaHa). You definitely put a fresh spin on a subject that’s been written about for years. Wonderful stuff, just wonderful!

  11. I drop a comment when I appreciate a post on a blog or
    if I have something to valuable to contribute
    to the discussion. It is a result of the passion displayed in the
    article I read. And after this article Do you Compost?
    Reasons why you should! | Master Gardener Girls’ Gardening Blog.
    I was excited enough to drop a leave a responsea response 🙂 I do have
    some questions for you if you usually do not mind.
    Is it simply me or does it seem like a few of these comments look like they are coming from brain dead individuals?
    😛 And, if you are posting at other online social sites, I’d like to
    follow everything fresh you have to post. Would you list all of your communal sites like
    your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

  12. It’s in fact very difficult in this active life
    to listen news on Television, so I only use world wide web for that purpose, and get the newest news.

  13. A few years ago, I became interested in Worm Composting due to the efficiency and not having an eyesore or the smell of a rotting heap of material. Living in rental property, its the best solution for me.

    The difference fresh compost can make to the health of your plants is just astonishing. If you make a ‘Tea’ from worm castings, its just freaking awesome and the bugs don’t care for the enzymes produced by worms.

  14. What’s Taking place i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I’ve discovered It absolutely useful and it has helped me out loads.
    I am hoping to contribute & aid different customers like its aided me.
    Great job.

  15. hello!,I like your writing very so much! proportion we keep up a correspondence more about
    your article on AOL? I require an expert on this house to unravel my problem.

    Maybe that is you! Looking ahead to see you.

Leave a comment